Behind on everything because of home furnishing woes

I was optimistic and thought simply relocating somewhere more sane and normal would confer instant good health and energy, that T.W.O. and I would earn back 5-10 years physically.

LMAO LMAO LMAO at myself.

The new house is very large and designed for frequent and large-scale entertaining. It’s workable for us to live in and eventually even do the entertaining, but setting it up to simply live in is going to take a year or so and just a lot of time looking for the right furniture to make clutter hard to do and cleanup easy to maintain day to day and week to week.

That’s what my time goes to, plus homeschooling. Language work is going ok, my credential quest, phase one will be done summer or fall next year. Language work is training the kids and myself in ancient and modern languages to the level of reading, speaking (where applicable) and writing. We’re mostly doing the input model, watching programs in x language and reading in x language with very little grammar/book work. Which has led to some polyglot moments earlier than I was expecting them. Next year we’ll finally be in a position to bring in the grammar/book work to make that graduation to real fluency and being able to get along in various ancient and modern languages.

The expected level of socializing has been shown to us by the people around us, it’s higher than where we came from and it’s a challenge. We did move to have that, but it’s also new and will take some adjusting to.

I have some substack stuff in draft, no idea when I’ll get around to publishing more there, probably the next couple of months. I had planned to write a book draft this year, but the rigors of the move didn’t make that feasible and along the way trying to complete the outline I realized it was multiple books. Two or three can be outlined by yearend, and a decent chance of knocking on some editrix doors in summer ’23 to get the drafts edited.

I radically underestimated the furnishing issue. But we have ample space to plan and be strategic in our furniture placement and purchasing.

At least the weather is better and the people are more decent. I also learned that I now live where a decent number of politicians have many views in common with me, so the process of reaching out to them will start, probably in January. It’s not likely I can get started next month on that unfortunately.

I’m very tired.