Why I didn’t finish Somewhither by John C. Wright.

To be quite brief, I got to the Superwife section early in the book (less than 20% in) and I was done.  I couldn’t keep going much further.  The book is written in mostly teenage boy first person, which I had read from other non-spoiler reviews was a bit rough going in the early chapters, but that was not my real obstacle.  It was the teenage boy recalling his mother, who was Donna Reed (without the housekeepers of course) melded with mannish interests like woodcarving hot rods.  And also melded with the rude homeschool parent caricature growling at school officials coming over politely and reasonably.

It was too fantastical for me, and the book is a fantasy novel.

4 thoughts on “Why I didn’t finish Somewhither by John C. Wright.

  1. I think there’s another “h” in Somewither.

    I agree about the realism problem–in my experience, you don’t find tomboy women who are also white glove housekeepers.

    Like

  2. I have this on my kindle but haven’t started it yet. I enjoy fantasies. Like the one where I actually have time to read all of the books that I chose.

    Like

    • Nonya said:

      “I have this on my kindle but haven’t started it yet. I enjoy fantasies. Like the one where I actually have time to read all of the books that I chose.”

      Funny!

      I actually just came back from an 8-day trip where I finished two books that had been languishing on my Kindle for years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

