Why I talk about money frequently.

This is a little widget  from an interesting post about the Obamas’ income showing where your household income is in national percents.

But, brass tacks and all.  Top 1% starts at 430k/year, for 2014 incomes.

Top 30-50%: 55k-85k

Top 25-30%: 86k-96k

Top 10-25%: 97k-150k

Top 6-10%: 155k-205k

Top 5%: 210k-230k

Top 4%: 235k-260k

Top 3%: 270k-320k

Top 2%: 340k-420k

Look at how narrow the ranges are, even for the highest income levels.  It’s really hard to get up into the higher percents even with two incomes.

8 thoughts on “Why I talk about money frequently.”

  1. I suspect some people would be surprised at the fact that the top 1% starts off at such a low amount. We tend to think of the 1% as a bunch of multi-millionaires and billionaires, not really successful small and medium business owners, lawyers, and doctors.

    Like

    1. Exactly, and they work their way up with a lot of sweat, a lot of frustration and a lot of failure in the mix. And when they’re successful, guess what — they provide the jobs for all those people who are in the same boat they once were. And they fund things like the music academy my children attend — our children couldn’t even think of being as well trained in music as they are without the generosity of these so-called “elite”. With six children it was simply not possible to pay for lessons for all of them.

      And then people look at me with hostility when I refuse to sign the petition to get the minimum wage increase on the ballot…..although I did give quite a lecture to a twentysomething kid who was out with the petition, while he was trying to convince me why the minimum wage should be raised. I explained to him how that would destroy small business and lead to a decrease in jobs; overall, he would lose.

      Like

      1. STMA,

        I’d be tempted to ask him how much he is making on the petition drive and then make big eyes that he wasn’t getting at least $15 an hour. “Why aren’t they paying you more than that?” Then just shut up and listen.

        Like

      2. I think people would be interested to learn the history of minimum wage is actually a rather racist one…or that it would increase youth unemployment.

        Most people don’t like the truth so I keep my mouth shut. I used to be a supporter of minimum wage hikes until I did the research, although I’m still a believer of paying people a wage commensurate to their responsibilities and skills level. When I see certain jobs at the airport where workers are saddled with flyer and equipment responsibilities yet are only paid $10/hr, I cringe.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The one that kills me in our area is the college pool. The last time I checked, they were paying only $8 an hour to lifeguards, which is ridiculous for a person with life-saving responsibilities. Plus, other work study positions that pay the same offer a lot more opportunities for study (you know how student workers often have a big textbook open at their desks)…

          They are chronically short on lifeguards and sometimes have to close the pool because of not having enough coverage…It’s annoying, because I’m 100% sure that an extra $2 would fill those slots.

          Also (and this is even scarier), when a commercial pilot cousin of mine was first flying professionally some years ago, he was getting paid a whopping $18k a year to fly small passenger planes for a small company…And he had to do it to get the hours to keep up his qualifications…But he eventually made the big time. But I still hate the idea of putting my life into the hands of a guy making $18k.

          Like

          1. “which is ridiculous for a person with life-saving responsibilities.”

            Agreed. But a lot of kids who really want to work will work their brains out for whatever they can get, and thus establish a reputation and a résumé. I was paid $5 an hour to be a teacher’s assistant, run the front office (after assistant-teaching all day long) and all the innumerable responsibilites that came with it. I put in twelve-hour days. I got a $1.50 raise per hour after the first year, then they hired me as a teacher the year after that. A lot of days I worked a twelve-hour day, but this time on salary. Found out after number-crunching that I was making less salaried than I had been when paid per hour……only difference was that I was now working five days a week instead of only three. Two years later I was replaced by a person who had had less classroom time than I, only had to work eight hours instead of the up to twelve I was working — and she got $3,000 per month more than I was getting? Why? She had her degree already, while I was still going to school nights to finish…..I was not very happy AT ALL.

            Like

Comments are closed.