Why grocery delivery is natalist

Conservatives into affordable family formation should support things like grocery delivery because given that America is so car-centric, SAHM isolation and car seat laws make it much more prohibitive to have more than 2 kids otherwise.  Grocery delivery is still a staple in parts of the country that are not quite as anti-natal as is the norm in American society and media.  And needless to say, women who are doing the SAHM thing find it to be easier and for pockets of fellow SAHMs to organically develop when the necessaries of life can be delivered.  In olden days of yore, the idea of leaving the house frequently to buy food with a pack of little kids in tow would have been seen as completely bonkers.  An older child might be sent out, but even in the postwar era and through the 1960s and 1970s, the idea of taking all the kids to the grocery store regularly was not a normalized expectation.  Also, it used to be a job for promising young men with their whole lives ahead of them and could be again.

Interestingly, delivery is on the rise, as shown by monoliths like Wal-Mart taking it up.  Regardless of the reasons why, conservatives should support it and encourage delivery of other necessities of life.  Making it easier to manage a household makes it easier to have additional children.

3 thoughts on “Why grocery delivery is natalist

  1. My local grocery store (Harris Teeter) has pickup service – I can fill out my order online and pay for it and then drive up to the store and they put it in my car; there is a nominal fee for this service. I’ve thought about using it, but I’m kind of picky in my meat and produce selections and fret that the selections would not be what I’ve chosen. Still, I’m thinking that it couldn’t hurt to try it out and reduce, if possible, some of the demands on my time.

    Like Mrs. C., however, I kind of look forward to anything that gets me out of my house (I telecommute).

    A great post – and good food for thought.

    Like

  2. Pingback: What’s Cooking and Other Miscellany | Loving in the Ruins

Comments are closed.