Increase production of high quality small household goods

I recently tried to find clothespins so I could air-dry clothes to maintain their condition and help them last longer.  It was difficult going, but I did find a small family owned company that offered a decent product.

Conservatives need to consider business ventures revolving around producing small household goods like clotheslines, clothespins, small hand tools, small crafting kit, and the like.  There is a desperate need for high quality products that make home life more pleasant and help make household goods and clothing last longer.  As these household goods serve both male and female household stuff, businesses providing them provide the kind of infrastructure support for traditional living that is so badly needed.  It’s the sort of respectable work that won’t make anyone rich, but does provide family-supporting opportunities that conservatives need to have on offer.

5 thoughts on “Increase production of high quality small household goods”

  1. I’ve decided that Armageddon happens next Tuesday… I got a sales call that actually is USEFUL to me. Apparently a local shop does sewing machine/vacuum repair/maintenance – and they do it at 1/5 the price I’ve been paying. And in about 1/5 the turnaround time. -blinks- BBB gives them a clear slate, as does Yelp.

    Guess what, business people, I am HAPPY to give you my money to take care of my good tools. Very happy. I just need to know you’re there. We need local networking to start happening again. But of course I never talk to my neighbors… argh. Conservatism has to start with communication.

    Like

  2. What about buying clothing from local seamstresses/tailors? IMO that’s right up there with buying local food.

    Like

    1. Prohibitively expensive, unless you live somewhere there’s a nearby garment district. There are few folks who have the skills who can do commercial quality work in a reasonable amount of time these days. My mom used to have things made all the time… but now, with fast fashion (a pox on FF, btw) endemic, people are just not willing/able to pay for such things, and therefore the seamstresses/tailors don’t leave their calling cards at the fabric stores anymore. (If you live where you can get access to a garment district, this rule stands on its head, of course).

      Like

  3. i looked five places for a small laundry basket. was told by someone that most washers are on the same floor and so laundry baskets are no longer necessary. so i make do with what i got to haul the clothing to the laundry mat. our washer died, oh well, life goes on.

    Like

Comments are closed.